

Yukon Legislative Assembly

Special Committee on Electoral Reform

35th Yukon Legislative Assembly

MINUTES

Meeting No. 21 Thursday, June 2, 2022 Committee Meeting Room, Yukon Legislative Assembly, Whitehorse

The Special Committee on Electoral Reform met in camera this day at 11:03 a.m., the Chair, Kate White, presiding.

Members present: Kate White (Chair),

Brad Cathers (Vice-Chair), and

Hon. John Streicker.

Also present: Allison Lloyd, Clerk to the Committee

Approval of Agenda

It was agreed, on motion of the Hon. Mr, Streicker, seconded by Mr. Cathers, THAT the agenda for Meeting No. 21 of the Special Committee on Electoral Reform be adopted as presented.

Approval of Minutes of Meeting No. 20 (May 30, 2022)

It was agreed, on motion of the Hon. Mr, Streicker, THAT the minutes for Meeting No. 20 (May 30, 2022) of the Special Committee on Electoral Reform be adopted as presented and made public.

Committee Work Plan

The committee discussed the public hearing held in Whitehorse on May 30, 2022.

Possible improvements to committee communications were considered.

The committee discussed logistics and procedures for the upcoming public hearings in Yukon communities.

Committee members agreed to share by email a list of organizations that should be notified of upcoming hearings.

Committee members proposed that the times for hearings in communities outside of Whitehorse be changed from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

A draft letter to Yukon First Nations, city and town councils, and local advisory councils regarding upcoming community hearings was discussed and approved.

It was agreed, on motion of Mr. Cathers,

THAT the May 31, 2022 Yukon Electoral Reform Survey Report from the Yukon Bureau of Statistics be made public with a press release noting that additional public feedback is being collected by the committee.

Further discussion on how the committee should communicate the results of the electoral reform survey was deferred to a future meeting.

Next Meeting

The next meeting will be to the call of the Chair.

At 11:59 a.m. the committee adjourned.

Allison Lloyd

Clerk to the Committee