

Select Committee on Anti-smoking Legislation

Yukon Legislative Assembly

The Yukon Legislative Assembly established the Select Committee on Anti-smoking Legislation on June 13, 2007. The mandate of this all-party Committee includes holding public hearings to receive the views and opinions of Yukon citizens and interested groups on legislative options for banning smoking in public places. The Committee members are Hon. Brad Cathers, Darius Elias and John Edzerza.

Public Hearing Schedule Mayo Tuesday, Sept. 11 7:00 p.m. **Curling Lounge** Wednesday, Sept. 127:00 p.m. Dawson City Downtown Hotel Meeting Room Pelly Crossing Thursday, Sept. 13 1:00 p.m. Community Hall Carmacks Thursday, Sept. 13 7:00 p.m. Recreation Centre Meeting Room Ross River Friday, Sept. 14 1:00 p.m. Gathering Room in Ross River School Faro Friday, Sept. 14 7:00 p.m. Sportsman Lounge Recreation Centre Haines Junction Saturday, Sept. 15 7:00 p.m. Atrium - Convention Centre **Destruction Bay** Sunday, Sept. 16 10:00 a.m. Kluane Lake School Library Sunday, Sept. 16 1:00 p.m. **Burwash Landing** Jacquot Building Beaver Creek Sunday, Sept. 167:00 p.m Community Hall Watson Lake Saturday, Sept. 22 7:00 p.m. Recreation Centre **Teslin** Sunday, Sept. 23 1:00 p.m. Recreation Centre Marsh Lake Monday, September 24 7:00 p.m. Community Hall Carcross Thursday, Sept. 27 7:00 p.m. Community Hall Old Crow Friday, Sept. 28 1:00 p.m. Community Hall **Tagish** Saturday, Sept. 29 7:00 p.m. Community Hall Whitehorse Tuesday, Oct. 27:00 p.m. Mt. McIntyre Rec. Centre The Committee also accepted written submissions and questionnaires. The deadline for written submissions and questionnaires was October 15. For more information call 667-5499 or toll free 1-800-661-0408 ext 5499 or

visit the Legislative Assembly's web page at www.legassembly.gov.vk.ca