YUKON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

Motions adopted during the First Session of the 32nd Legislative Assembly

November 23, 2006 - December 13, 2006

Note: The following is an unofficial consolidation of the substantive motions adopted during the time period noted above. If motions were amended before adoption, the amendment is incorporated in the text and a notation made that the motion was amended.

Consolidation of Motions adopted during the First Session of the 32nd Legislative Assembly

November 23, 2006 – December 13, 2006

INDEX

SUBSTANTIVE MOTIONS (listed in chronological order) Subject Matter		<u>Page</u>
1.	Speaker (Ted Staffen) elected (#1)	2
2.	Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committee of the Whole (Steve Nordick) appointed (#2)	2
3.	Address in Reply to the Speech from the Throne (#27)	4
4.	Rules, Elections and Privileges, Standing Committee on: Nordick, McRobb, Cardiff, Taylor, Elias, and Cathers be appointed (#6)	2
5.	Members' Services Board: Speaker, Fentie, Mitchell, Hardy and Cathers be appointed (#7)	3
6.	Public Accounts, Standing Committee on: Mitchell, Nordick, Edzerza, Hart, Inverarity, Horne, and Rouble be appointed (#8)	3
7.	Statutory Instruments, Standing Committee on: Nordick, Elias, Edzerza, Cathers, and Kenyon be appointed (#9)	3-4
8.	Canada Post to apply same treatment to Yukon MLAs as it does to federal representatives (#57)	4
9.	Yukon Human Rights Commission: appoint Maxwell Rispin (#65)	4
10.	Yukon Human Rights Panel of Adjudicators: reappoint Donna Mercier and appoint Darcy Tkachuk (#66)	4
CON	MMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MOTIONS	
1.	Witnesses – Chair and President of the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board (#1)	5°

YUKON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

Motions adopted during the First Session of the 32nd Legislative Assembly

November 23, 2006 - December 13, 2006

Substantive Motions

 Motion #1 – Hon. Mr. Fentie, Premier Debated November 23, 2006 Carried November 23, 2006

THAT Ted Staffen, Member for Riverdale North, do take the Chair of this Assembly as Speaker.

 Motion #2 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated November 23, 2006 Carried November 23, 2006

RESOLVED THAT Steve Nordick, Member for Klondike, be appointed Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committee of the Whole.

 Motion #6 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated November 30, 2006 Carried November 30, 2006

THAT the honourable Members Steve Nordick, Gary McRobb, Steve Cardiff, Hon. Elaine Taylor, Darius Elias and Hon. Brad Cathers be appointed to the Standing Committee on Rules, Elections and Privileges established pursuant to Standing Order 45(1):

THAT the Committee elect its Chair from the Government Caucus Members appointed to it;

THAT the Chair of the Committee be required to participate in all votes before the Committee;

THAT the said Committee review, as necessary, such Standing Orders as it may decide upon;

THAT the said Committee, following the conduct of any such review, report any recommendations for amendment to the Assembly;

THAT the said Committee have the power to call for persons, papers and records and to sit during intersessional periods; and

THAT the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly be responsible for providing the necessary support services to the Committee.

 Motion #7 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated November 30, 2006 Carried November 30, 2006

THAT the Honourable Speaker, pursuant to Standing Order 45(2), be appointed Chair of the Members' Services Board;

THAT Hon. Dennis Fentie, Arthur Mitchell, Todd Hardy and Hon. Brad Cathers be appointed to the Members' Services Board;

THAT the Board consider:

- (1) budget submissions for the following Votes:
 - (a) Legislative Assembly,
 - (b) Ombudsman (including Information and Privacy Commissioner),
 - (c) Conflicts Commission, and
 - (d) Elections Office,

and

- (2) policy questions concerning matters such as:
 - (a) space allocation,
 - (b) staffing,
 - (c) caucus funding,
 - (d) Media Gallery House rules, and
 - (e) Hansard,

and

THAT the Board fulfill its statutory responsibilities including those in the Legislative Assembly Act, the Legislative Assembly Retirement Allowances Act, the Elections Act, the Conflict of Interest (Members and Ministers) Act, the Ombudsman Act, and the Cabinet and Caucus Employees Act.

 Motion #8 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated November 30, 2006 Carried November 30, 2006

THAT the honourable Members Arthur Mitchell, Steve Nordick, John Edzerza, Hon. Glenn Hart, Don Inverarity, Hon. Marian Horne and Hon. Patrick Rouble be appointed to the Standing Committee on Public Accounts established pursuant to Standing Order 45(3);

THAT the said Committee have the power to call for persons, papers and records and to sit during intersessional periods; and

THAT the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly be responsible for providing the necessary support services to the Committee.

 Motion #9 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated November 30, 2006 Carried November 30, 2006

THAT the honourable Members Steve Nordick, Darius Elias, John Edzerza, Hon. Brad Cathers and Hon. Jim Kenyon be appointed to the Standing Committee on Statutory Instruments established pursuant to Standing Order 45(1);

THAT the said Committee have the power to call for persons, papers and records and to sit during intersessional periods;

THAT the said Committee review such regulations, made following the date of its appointment, as it may decide upon;

THAT the said Committee review such other existing or proposed regulations as are referred to it by the Assembly; and

THAT the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly be responsible for providing the necessary support services to the Committee.

 Motion #27 – Mr. Nordick, Member for Klondike Debated November 27, 28, and 29, 2006 Carried November 29, 2006

THAT the following Address be presented to the Commissioner of Yukon:

MAY IT PLEASE THE COMMISSIONER: We, the Members of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, beg leave to offer our humble thanks for the gracious Speech that you have addressed to the House.

8. Motion #57 – Mr. McRobb, Member for Kluane Debated December 6, 2006 Carried December 6, 2006

THAT this House requests that the Canada Post Corporation work together with the federal government to provide the same communication rights and tools for Members of the Yukon Legislative Assembly as provided now to federal government representatives.

Amended

 Motion #65 – Hon. Ms. Horne, Minister of Justice Debated December 11, 2006 Carried December 11, 2006

THAT the Yukon Legislative Assembly, pursuant to section 17(1) of the *Human Rights Act*, appoint Maxwell Rispin to be a member of the Yukon Human Rights Commission.

 Motion #66 –Hon. Ms. Horne, Minister of Justice Debated December 11, 2006 Carried December 11, 2006

THAT the Yukon Legislative Assembly, pursuant to section 22(2) of the *Human Rights Act*, reappoint Donna Mercier and appoint Darcy Tkachuk to be members of the Yukon Hurman Rights Panel of Adjudicators.

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MOTIONS

 C/W Motion #1 – Hon. Mr. Cathers, Government House Leader Debated December 7, 2006 Carried December 7, 2006

THAT Craig Tuton, Chair of the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board, and Valerie Royle, President of the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board, appear as witnesses before Committee of the Whole from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Monday, December 11, 2006 to discuss matters relating to the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board.