

# **Yukon Legislative Assembly Office**

Box 2703 (A-9), Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6
• Telephone (867) 667-5498 • Fax (867) 393-6280 • Email <u>yla@gov.yk.ca</u>

## First Nations Persons Elected to the Yukon Legislative Assembly

On August 1, 1960 a new *Canada Elections Act* was given Royal Assent. The act gave persons with the legal status of an 'Indian' the right to vote and run as a candidate in Canadian elections. The changes first applied to elections for the Yukon Territorial Council in the 1961 general election. In the chart below, a member's term begins on the day the member is elected either in a general election or by-election. The member's term ends on the day the member resigns or dies, or the day before an election where a member is defeated at the polls or chooses to not run. Days in Office are calculated to June 30, 2022.

Name	Party	Electoral District	Term	Days in Office
1. Alice McGuire	Liberal	Kluane	November 20, 1978-June 6, 1982	1295
2. Grafton Njootli	PC/Ind.	Old Crow	November 20, 1978-June 6, 1982	1295
3. Kathie Nukon	PC	Old Crow	June 7, 1982-May 12, 1985	1071
4. Margaret (Joe) Commodore <sup>1</sup>	NDP	Whitehorse North Centre	June 7, 1982-September 29, 1996	5229
5. Norma Kassi	NDP	Old Crow	May 13, 1985-October 18, 1992	2716
6. Sam Johnston	NDP	Campbell	May 13, 1985-October 18, 1992	2716
7. Dave Porter	NDP	Campbell; Watson Lake	June 7, 1982-February 19, 1989	2409
8. Danny Joe	NDP	Mayo; Mayo-Tatchun	February 2, 1987-September 29, 1996	3528

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Margaret Commodore changed her name from Margaret Joe in September 1993.

9. Johnny Abel	YP	Vuntut Gwitchin	October 19, 1992-October 13, 1995	1090
10.Esau Schaefer	YP	Vuntut Gwitchin	February 5, 1996-September 29, 1996	238
11.Dave Keenan	NDP	Ross River-Southern Lakes	September 30, 1996-November 3, 2002	2226
12.Eric Fairclough	NDP	Mayo-Tatchun	September 30, 1996-October 10, 2011	5489
13.Robert Bruce	NDP	Vuntut Gwitchin	October 5, 1996-February 25, 1997; April 1, 1997-April 16, 2000	144+1112 =1256
14.Lorraine (Netro) Peter <sup>2</sup>	NDP	Vuntut Gwitchin	April 17, 2000-October 9, 2006	2367
15.Wayne Jim	Liberal/Ind.	McIntyre-Takhini	April 17, 2000-November 3, 2002	931
16.John Edzerza	YP/Ind./NDP/In d./YP	McIntyre-Takhini	November 4, 2002-October 10, 2011	3263
17.Darius Elias	Liberal/Ind./YP	Vuntut Gwitchin	October 10, 2006-November 6, 2016	3681
18.Marian C. Horne	YP	Pelly-Nisutlin	October 10, 2006-October 10, 2011	1827
19.Kevin Barr	NDP	Mount Lorne-Southern Lakes	October 11, 2011-November 6, 2016	1854
20.Jeanie (Dendys) McLean³	Liberal	Mountainview	November 7, 2016 - Present	2063
21.Geraldine Van Bibber	YP	Porter Creek North	November 7, 2016 - Present	2063
22.Pauline Frost	Liberal	Vuntut Gwitchin	November 7, 2016 - April 11, 2021	1616
23.Annie Blake	NDP	Vuntut Gwitchin	April 12, 2021 - Present	445

**Party key:** Ind. = Independent member, Liberal = Liberal Party, NDP = New Democratic Party, PC = Progressive Conservative Party, YP = Yukon Party.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Lorraine Peter was first elected under the name Lorraine Netro.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Jeanie McLean changed her name from Jeanie Dendys in September 2020.

### First Nations MLAs ranked by days in office

- 1. Eric Fairclough 5489 days.
- 2. Margaret (Joe) Commodore 5229 days.
- 3. Darius Elias 3681 days.
- 4. Danny Joe 3528 days.
- 5. John Edzerza 3263 days.
- 6. Norma Kassi and Sam Johnston 2716 days.
- 8. Dave Porter 2409 days.
- 9. Lorraine (Netro) Peter 2367.
- 10.Dave Keenan 2226 days.
- 11. Jeanie (Dendys) McLean and Geraldine Van Bibber 2063
- 13.Kevin Barr 1854 days.
- 14.Marian C. Horne 1827 days.
- 15. Pauline Frost 1616 days.
- 16. Alice McGuire and Grafton Njootli 1295 days.
- 18. Robert Bruce 1256 days.
- 19. Johnny Abel 1090 days.
- 20.Kathie Nukon 1071 days.
- 21.Wayne Jim 931 days.
- 22. Annie Blake 445 days
- 23.Esau Schaefer 238 days.

#### First Nations Members elected by Legislative Assembly

Legislative Assembly	Term	Seats	Members	First Nations Members	Percentage
24 <sup>th</sup>	November 20, 1978 - June 6, 1982	16	18	2	11.1
25 <sup>th</sup>	June 7, 1982 - May 12, 1985	16	16	2	12.5
26 <sup>th</sup>	May 13, 1985 - February 19, 1989	16	18	5	27.8
27 <sup>th</sup>	February 20, 1989 - October 18, 1992	16	16	4	25.0
28 <sup>th</sup>	October 19, 1992 - September 29, 1996	17	19	4	21.1
29 <sup>th</sup>	September 30, 1996 - April 16, 2000	17	19	3	15.8
30 <sup>th</sup>	April 17, 2000- November 3, 2002	17	18	4	22.2
31 <sup>st</sup>	November 4, 2002 - October 9, 2006	18	19	3	15.8
32 <sup>nd</sup>	October 10, 2006 - October 10, 2011	18	19	4	21.1
33 <sup>rd</sup>	October 11, 2011 - November 6, 2016	19	19	2	10.5
34 <sup>th</sup>	November 7, 2016 - April 11, 2021	19	19	3	15.8
35 <sup>th</sup>	April 12, 2021 - Present	19	19	3	15.8

#### Notes:

- The number of Members who served in a Legislative Assembly may exceed the number of seats due to by-elections.
- Including by-elections, First Nations candidates have won 36 of 200 seats contested between November 20, 1978 and November 7, 2016. This is 18 percent of the seats available over that time period.
- During the 26<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, Margaret (Joe) Commodore, Norma Kassi, Sam Johnston, and Dave Porter were elected in the general election of May 13, 1985. Danny Joe was elected in the Tatchun by-election of February 2, 1987.
- During the 28<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, Margaret (Joe) Commodore, Danny Joe and Johnny Abel were elected in the general election of October 19, 1992. Esau Schafer was elected in the Vuntut Gwitchin by-election of February 5, 1996.