

Yukon Legislative Assembly Office

Box 2703 (A-9), Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6 • Telephone (867) 667-5498 • Fax (867) 393-6280 • Email yla@gov.yk.ca

Speakers of the Wholly-Elected Yukon Territorial Council

	Speaker	Tenure	Presided Over	Days in Office	Sitting Days
1	Robert Lowe	1909 to 1912 and 1920 to 1925	1^{st} , 5^{th} , and 6^{th} Councils	3057	
2	Alex Gillis	1912 to 1915	2 nd Council	1039	
3	Archie Martin	1915 to 1917	3 rd Council	742	
4	John Turner	1917 to May 4, 1918	4 th Council	416	
5	Allan A. McMillan	May 5, 1918 to 1920	4 th Council	661	
6	Charles Bossuyt	1925 to 1928	7 th Council	1043	
7	Frank Carscallen	1928 to 1931	8 th Council	1120	
8	Andrew Teddie	1931 to 1937	9 th and 10 th Councils	2209	
9	Ernest J. Corp	1937 to 1940 and 1944 to 1952	11^{th} , 13^{th} , 14^{th} and 15^{th} Councils	4301	
10	Richard Lee	1940 to 1943	12 th Council	1171	
11	A.R. Hayes	October 15, 1952 to October 14,1958	16 th and 17 th Councils	2191	159
12	John O. Livesey	October 15, 1958 to October 21, 1964 and November 6,1967 to November 3, 1970	18 th , 19 th and 21 st Councils	3293	411
13	George O. Shaw	October 22, 1964 to November 5, 1967	20 th Council	1110	155
14	Ronald A. Rivett	November 4, 1970 to December 12, 1974	22 nd Council	1500	152

Note: For Speakers of the 1st through 15th councils 'Days in Office' equates with the duration of the councils, as calculated from election date of the council in question, except where date of election or termination as Speaker is mentioned. Up to and including the year 2021, where a Speaker's termination date is provided in this chart, the date given is the day preceding the day of the election as Speaker of the next Speaker. This is the case, for example, whether or not the outgoing Speaker remained an MLA on the day of the new Speaker's election as Speaker.

Speakers of the Yukon Legislative Assembly

	Speaker	Tenure	Presided Over	Days in Office	Sitting Days
15	Donald E. Taylor	December 13, 1974 to July 14, 1985	23 rd , 24 th and 25 th Assemblies	3867	406
16	Sam Johnston	July 15, 1985 to December 13, 1992	26 th and 27 th Assemblies	2709	344
17	Alan Nordling	December 14, 1992 to February 23, 1994	28 th Assembly	437	90
18	John Devries	April 18, 1994 to December 3, 1996	28 th Assembly	961	142
19	Robert Bruce	December 4, 1996 to February 27, 1997 and April 14, 1997 to June 4, 2000	29 th Assembly	1234	182
20	Doug Livingston	March 24, 1997 to April 10, 1997	29 th Assembly	18	10
21	Dennis Schneider	June 5, 2000 to February 26, 2003	30 th Assembly	997	148
22	Ted Staffen	February 27, 2003 to November 30, 2011	31 st and 32 nd Assemblies	3199	494
23	David Laxton	December 1, 2011 to May 9, 2016^{1}	33 rd Assembly	1622	267
24	Patti McLeod	May 10, 2016 to January 11, 2017	33 rd Assembly	247	10
25	Nils Clarke	January 12, 2017 to May 10, 2021	34 th Assembly	1580	240
26	Jeremy Harper	May 11, 2021 - Present	35 th Assembly	415	74

¹ Following the format used in this chart, the date provided for Speaker Laxton's resignation is May 9, 2016 - i.e., the day preceding the election of the next Speaker. Note however that his letter of resignation as Speaker was delivered on the morning of May 10, 2016 and recorded in that day's Journals of the Yukon Legislative Assembly: "...This letter is to serve as notice to the House of my resignation as Speaker effective May 10, 2016..."

Speakers ranked by Days in Office

- 1. Ernest J. Corp 4301
- 2. Donald E. Taylor 3867
- 3. John O. Livesey 3293
- 4. Ted Staffen 3199
- 5. Robert Lowe 3057
- 6. Sam Johnston 2709
- 7. Andrew Teddie 2209
- 8. A.R. Hayes 2191
- 9. David Laxton 1622
- 10. Nils Clarke 1580
- 11. Ronald A. Rivett 1500
- 12. Robert Bruce 1234
- 13. Richard Lee 1171
- 14. Frank Carscallen 1120
- 15. George O. Shaw 1110
- 16. Charles Bossuyt 1043
- 17. Alex Gillis 1039
- 18. Dennis Schneider 997
- 19. John Devries 961
- 20. Archie Martin 742
- 21. Allan A. McMillan 661
- 22. Alan Nordling 437
- 23. John Turner 416
- 24. Jeremy Harper 415
- 25. Patti McLeod 247
- 26. Doug Livingston 18

Speakers ranked by Sitting Days

- 1. Ted Staffen 494
- 2. John O. Livesey 411
- 3. Donald E. Taylor 406
- 4. Sam Johnston 344
- 5. David Laxton 267
- 6. Nils Clarke 241
- 7. Robert Bruce 182
- 8. A.R. Hayes 159
- 9. George O. Shaw 155
- 10. Ronald A. Rivett 152
- 11. Dennis Schneider 148
- 12. John Devries 142
- 13. Alan Nordling 90
- 14. Jeremy Harper 74
- 15. Doug Livingston 10
- 16. Patti McLeod 10